You can now take our online class, apply for a concealed carry permit, and carry in Wyoming and 36 other states!
Note: While you may carry a firearm in the state of Wyoming under certain circumstances without a permit, getting a permit is still highly recommended. After obtaining your Wyoming Concealed Weapons Permit, you will be able to legally concealed carry your firearm in 37 states.
How it works
First, you will register, pay and take our online video course. The course is taught by an instructor who is both state-certified and nationally-certified. The video is about 45 minutes long and upon completion of the video you will see a link where you can continue on to take a simple 20-question test. Upon passing this test, you will have your certificate, which you can then print and use to apply for your permit.
Click Take The Course to Get Started!
Still have a question? Give us a call: 804-885-0486
The training requirements in the state of Wyoming for the Concealed Weapons Permit are as follows:
6-8-104 (b) (vii) Firearm training program
(vii) Demonstrates familiarity with a firearm. A legible photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes or a notarized affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught the course or class attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant or a copy of any document which shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation of firearms competition, shall constitute evidence of qualification under this paragraph. Any one (1) of the following activities listed in this paragraph shall be sufficient to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm:
(A) Completion of any certified firearm safety or training course utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Wyoming law enforcement academy;
(B) Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division of law enforcement or security enforcement;
(C) Experience with a firearm through participation in an organized handgun shooting competition or military service;
(D) Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state certified or National Rifle Association certified firearms instructor;
(E) Be certified as proficient in firearms safety by any Wyoming law enforcement agency under procedures established by that agency; or
(F) Honorable retirement as a federal or state peace officer who has a minimum of ten (10) years of service.
Applying for the permit in Wyoming
Applications for new permits or to renew a permit can only be obtained through the Sheriff’s Office. The
cost for a new permit is $74.00. The cost to renew your existing permit is $50.00. If permits are renewed
after the expiration date shown on the card, it will cost an additional $10.00, a total of $60.00 to renew your
permit. Concealed Firearm Permits are good for five (5) years.
In order to apply for a new permit, you must provide the Sheriff’s Office with a copy of your proof of firearms proficiency ( This is the certificate you print off upon completing the course.) The Sheriff will fingerprint you or inform you where you can be fingerprinted. No Personal Checks are allowed.
Get started on your way to your 28-state concealed carry permit by taking the online course HERE
Useful Links for researching laws in Wyoming: